Action Alert: HB1069

SD Legislature Attempts to Gut Initiated Measure 22 with the Passage of House Bill 1069

IG12

HB 1069, a complete gutting of Initiated Measure 22 passed by voters last fall, is being rushed to a joint hearing on Monday after being introduced late Friday afternoon.

IM 22 created an independent ethics commission to oversee the legislature, imposed stricter limits on lobbying, and provided for public financing of political campaigns. While some voters disagreed with sections of the bill, the citizen-led initiative passed in November with 53% of the vote.

HB 1069 undermines this package of reforms meant to bring greater transparency and oversight to the democratic process, and it comes with an emergency clause that ensures immediate implementation and blocks any process of referral by voters. The fox is re-engineering the henhouse for his own comfort.

While there are some constitutional issues with IM 22 as passed, an injunction by the State Supreme Court already prevents those measures from going into effect. The “emergency” being declared is an excuse for legislators to alter both the letter and spirit of the law with no recourse for the voters who passed it.

THIS IS A FAST-MOVING ATTACK ON THE INITIATIVE & REFERENDUM PROCESS AND WE NEED TO ACT FAST!

RIGHT NOW contact Committee members (listed below) and urge them to kill HB1069 in committee.

MONDAY MORNING Call the House Lobby at (605) 773-3851 and leave a message for your representatives, telling them to STAND UP for voters and vote DOWN HB1069.

House State Affairs Committee Members
Julie Bartling (D) Gregory
(605) 222-3378 (cell) bjbart@gwtc.net

Arch Beal (R) Sioux Falls
Arch.beal@sdlegislature.gov

Lynne DiSanto (R) Box Elder
Lynne.disanto@sdlegislature.gov

Don Haggar (R) Sioux Falls
(605) 360-8130 (cell) don@donhaggar.com

Spencer Hawley (D) Brookings
(605) 691-3061 (cell) Spencer.hawley@mchsi.com

Leslie Heinemann (R) Flandreau
(605) 864-1274 (cell) Leslie.heinemann@sdlegislature.gov

Isaac Latterell (R) Tea
Isaac.latterell@sdlegislature.gov

David Lust (R) Rapid City
Dlust@gpna.com

Mark G. Mickelson (R) Sioux Falls
(605) 951-7690 (cell) mark.mickelson@sdlegislature.gov

Kent Peterson (R) Salem
(605) 530-6245 (cell) kent4district19@gmail.com

(Vice Chair) Lee Qualm (R) Platte
(605) 207-0406 (cell) riverbluff@midstatesd.net

(Chair) Larry Rhoden (R) Union Center
Lrhoden@gwtc.net

Tona Rozum (R) Mitchell
(605) 999-2190 (cell) tonaroz@mit-tel.net

Advertisements
%d bloggers like this: