Action Alert: SB67

SealThe Attacks on Citizens’ Right to Direct Democracy Keep Coming

Senate Bill 67, an act to revise the number of signatures needed to place a constitutional amendment on the ballot, will be heard in Senate State Affairs Committee on Wednesday morning.

This bill dramatically raises the number of signatures needed by altering the formula: from 10% of the number of voters in the previous gubernatorial election to 10% of the TOTAL number of registered voters in the state.

These changes raise an already high bar to a level where the only groups likely to meet this challenge are big money outfits that can afford to hire people to circulate their petitions.

Like House Bill 1069 (the repeal of a Voter-approved anti-corruption act, passed out of House State Affairs last night), SB 67 also comes with an emergency clause, which puts it into effect right away, with no recourse for voters to refer it to the ballot.

BOTH THESE BAD BILLS ARE BEING HEARD WEDNESDAY MORNING.

CALL or EMAIL the members of Senate State Affairs NOW and tell them to oppose SB 67–the formula works as it is, AND there is NO need for an emergency clause because there is no emergency.

Senate State Affairs Members

Jim Bolin (R) Canton
605-773-3821 capitol
Jim.Bolin@sdlegislature.gov

R. Blake Curd (R) Sioux Falls (Dist. 12)
605-773-3821
Blake.Curd@sdlegislature.gov

Bob Ewing (R) Spearfish
605-773-3821
Bob.Ewing@sdlegislature.gov

Troy Heinert (D) Mission
605-773-3821
Troy.Heinert@sdlegislature.gov

Kris Langer
605-773-3821
Kris.Langer@sdlegislature.gov

Ryan Maher (R) Isabel
605-773-3821
Ryan.Maher@sdlegislature.gov

Jenna Netherton (R) Sioux Falls Dist. 10
605-773-3821
Jenna.Haggar@sdlegislature.gov

Al Novstrup (R) Aberdeen
605-773-3821
Al.Novstrup@sdlegislature.gov

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: