ACTION ALERT: Protect Initiative & Referendum

The Summer Task Force on Initiative & Referendum is Meeting This Week.

Seal

Today was the first meeting. Tomorrow, public testimony is being heard in Room 413 at the State Capitol.

Contact the members of the Task Force NOW and tell them South Dakota’s Direct Democracy is important to all of us. They must PROTECT our right to initiate and refer laws–NOT weaken it or make it more difficult to access.

There are plenty of problems in South Dakota’s government, but the initiative and referendum process is not a problem–it’s a solution–a tool for voters to fix what’s not being addressed by the legislature.
Contact the Task Force TODAY to say you want Direct Democracy protected!

Initiative & Referendum Task Force Roster:
Legislator Members:
Senator Jim Bolin
Jim.Bolin@sdlegislature.gov

Representative Don Haggar
Don.Haggar@sdlegislature.gov

Senator Reynold Nesiba
Reynold.Nesiba@sdlegislature.gov

Senator Ernie Otten
Ernie.Otten@sdlegislature.gov

Representative Tim Reed
Tim.Reed@sdlegislature.gov

Representative Karen Soli
Karen.Soli@sdlegislature.gov

Non-Legislator Members:
Dr. Emily Wanless (Chair)
ewanless@augie.edu

Pam L. Lynde
plynde@itctel.com

Linda Lea M. Viken
llmv@vikenlaw.com

Yvonne Taylor
yvonne@sdmunicipalleague.org

Duane Sutton
sutton.duane@gmail.com

Will Mortenson
will.mortenson@gmail.com

James W. Abbott
james.abbott@usd.edu
(Jim Abbott was absent from the initial meeting)

Access the agenda and documents for the Task Force via the Legislative Research Council here.

Amplify Your Voice at the Capitol!
Click HERE to Contribute to Dakota Rural Action’s Legislative Fund!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: